The Sound of Music

The final collaboration between Rodgers & Hammerstein was destined to become the world’s most beloved musical. When a postulant proves too high-spirited for the religious life, she is dispatched to serve as governess for the seven children of a widowed naval Captain. Her growing rapport with the youngsters, coupled with her generosity of spirit, gradually captures the heart of the stern Captain, and they marry. Upon returning from their honeymoon they discover that Austria has been invaded by the Nazis, who demand the Captain’s immediate service in their navy. The family’s narrow escape over the mountains to Switzerland on the eve of World War II provides one of the most thrilling and inspirational finales ever presented in the theatre. The motion picture version remains the most popular movie musical of all time.


Maria Rainer – Diane Sciarra

Captain George Von Trapp – Michael McGovern

Mother Abbess – Donna Riemersma

Sister Berthe – Kim Kuchler

Sister Margaretta – JoAnn Kudirko

Sister Sophia – Patricia Scholz

Franz – Steve Toepel

Frau Schmidt – Barbara Sertich

Elsa Schraeder – Susan Lautz

Ursula – Faith Laska

Max  Detweiler – Glenn Schultz

Liesl – Brenda Sinnen

Friedrich – Ben Griessmeyer

Louisa – Melissa Kolar

Brigitta – Kimberley Burkart

Marta – Courtney Toepel

Kurt – Craig Kutz

Gretl – Patricia Lutze

Rolf – Kevin Delray

Baron Elberfeld – Neil Beaton

Baroness Elberfeld – Karrie Seagren

Herr Zeller – Zachary Pledl

Admiral Von Schreiber – Douglas Kleinhans

Nuns – Amy Eberhardy, Marla Gavin, Veronica Hilke, Nancy Kelling, Susan Kelly, Faith Laska, Tanya Masbruch, Julia Meyer, Nancy Nack, Cherie Ramaker, Karrie Seagren, Barbara Sertich, Lynn Zeilbeck

Neighbors, S.S. Men – Micheal Bennett, Bob Deyo, Eric Eberhardy, John Reitz

Production Staff

Director: Ralph Maffongelli

Music Director: Dan Ognavic

Choreographer: Sherry Kunde

Stage Manager: Karin Gunderson

Asst. Stage Manager: Eric Eberhardy

Set & Light Design: Dustin L. Uhl

Costume Design: Nancy Klein, Bev Dulmes, Joyce Nery

Sound Design: Todd Jaeger

Master Electrician: Lisa Stewart

Properties: Karen Herman

Make-Up Design: Lynn Zielbeck

Master Carpenter: Don Held

Asst. Paint Master: Peter Moody

Lobby Photography: Irish Studios


Conductor, Keyboard & Violin: Dan Ognavic

Clarinet: Curt Hancock

Clarinet & Flute: Sherri Wittkopf

Clarinet & Piano: Michelle Bishop

Trumpet: Tom Engman

Percussion: Rob Vandersteen