Into the Woods

James Lapine and Stephen Sondheim take everyone’s favorite storybook characters and bring them together for a timeless yet relevant piece and rare modern classic. The Tony Award-winning book and score are both enchanting and touching.

The story follows a Baker and his wife who wish to have a child, Cinderella who wishes to attend the King’s Festival, and Jack who wishes his cow would give milk. When the Baker and his wife learn that they cannot have a child because of a Witch’s curse, the two set off on a journey to break the curse. Everyone’s wish is granted, but the consequences of their actions return to haunt them later with disastrous results.

One of Sondheim’s most popular works, Into The Woods is a musically sophisticated show with the opportunity to feature actors adept at dark comedy. Designers will especially enjoy highlighting the fantastical elements of this magical word.


Narrator/ Mysterious Man – Glenn Schultz

Cinderella – Jody Tempas

Jack – Lucas Chaltry

Baker – M. Eric Pye

Baker’s Wife – Di Sciarra

Cinderella’s Stepmother – Susan Kelly

Lucinda – Jasimine Palmer

Florinda – Veronica Hilke

Jack’s Mother – Samantha Lin Pool

Little Red Ridinghood – Courtney Toepel

Witch – Tamara Richelle Pool

Cinderella’s Mother – Kathleen Beuttenmueller

Wolf – Steve Toepel

Rapunzel – Katy Ries

Little Red Ridinghood’s Granny – Rachel Elizabeth

Cinderella’s Prince – Ryan Eckels

Servant to Cinderella’s Prince – Kat Moungey

Rapunzel’s Prince – Jim Wucherer

Giant – Kathleen Beuttenmueller

Snow White – Sarah Pittner Riemersma

Sleeping Beauty – Rachel Peichl

Production Staff

Director: Ralph Maffongelli

Musical Director: Janice Westphal

Stage Manager: Peter Moody

Asst. Stage Manager: Shari Roehl

Set Design: Dustin L. Uhl

Costume Design: Bernard J. Markevitch

Light Design: Rick Klein

Sound Design: Lee Schneider, Asst. Richard Pool

Properties: Karen Herman, Karen Held, Audrey Waitkus

Make-Up Design: Lynn Schultz, Tamara Pool

Paint Master: Eric Rautmann


Conductor/ Keyboard: Janice Westphal

Bass: Lee Steffen

Trumpet: Zach Holzer

Clarinet: Curt Hancock

Violin: Karen Bruinooge

Flute: Cathy Perronne

Horn: Allen Brusse

Basson: Donna Zittel

Percussion: Michael Underwood