H.M.S. Pinafore

Since its premiere in 1878, Gilbert and Sullivan’s wildly popular operetta H.M.S. Pinafore has delighted audiences with a nautically-tinged story of star-crossed lovers. The gentlemanly Captain Corcoran of the good ship Pinafore has a daughter, Josephine, who is in love with a lowly but gallant sailor named Ralph Rackstraw. The Captain forbids the marriage, wanting to match Josephine instead with the well-bred Sir Joseph, First Lord of the Admiralty. In the meantime, the Captain finds himself in nearly the same position as his daughter: his former nanny, Little Buttercup, falls in love with him, but he hesitates to reciprocate due to his higher social rank. The whole situation is turned on its head when Little Buttercup reveals a game-changing secret she has kept for decades. A rollicking farce with endearing characters, memorable tunes, and a hilariously happy ending, H.MS Pinafore is a classic, time-tested delight not to be missed.


The Rt. Hon. Sir Joseph Porter, K.C.B.,

First Lord of the Admiralty – Doug McDade

Captain Corcoran, Cammander of the H.M.S. Pinafore – Tim Adrianson

Ralph Rackstraw, Able Seaman – Glen Kimmel

Dick Deadeye, Able Seaman – James Loeffler

Bill Bobstay, Boatswain’s Mate – Peter Moody

Bob Becket, Carpenter’s Mate – Jeff Felton

Josephine, the captain’s Daughter – Nancy Rollag

Cousine Hebe, Sir Joseph’s First Cousin – Meg Winchell

Mrs. Cripps (Little Buttercup), a Portsmouth

Bumboat Woman – Marilyn Zimmermann

The Gallant Crew of the H.M.S. Pinafore – Jon Bauer, Don Charnon, Bill Levezow, Jim Weimann, Joel Schuler,

The First Lord’s Sisters, His cousins and his Aunts – Mary Braun, Janet Butcher, Mary Keen, Starr Margenau, Jan Stutz

Production Staff

Director/ Designer: James Loeffler

Musical Director: Barbara Pragalz

Choreographer: Sherry Kunde

Additional Musical Staging: James Loeffler

Technical Manager: Henry Weinberger Jr.

Assistant to Designer: Pal Scahill

Costume Design: Pat VonRautenkranz

Light Design: Don Zastrow, Don Moos

Sound Design: Carter VonRautenkranz

Properties: Betty Segor

Co-Chairman: Pearl Haartman

Make-Up Design: Mary Keen

Master Carpenters: Walter Weimann, Ludwig Johst, Mark Karsack

Paint Master: Pal Scahill

Cover Art: Roger Lahm

Production Photographer: Rick Gustafson


Piano I: Barbara Pragalz

Piano II: Marie Becker, Karin Schreiber

Percussion: Vicky Heinen