The seminal event in American history blazes to vivid life in this most unconventional of Broadway hits. 1776 puts a human face on the pages of history as we see the men behind the national icons: proud, frightened, uncertain, irritable, charming, often petty and ultimately noble figures determined to do the right thing for a fledgling nation. It’s the summer of 1776, and the nation is ready to declare independence…if only our founding fathers can agree to do it! 1776 follows John Adams of Massachusetts, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, and Richard Henry Lee and Thomas Jefferson of Virginia as they attempt to convince the members of the second Continental Congress to vote for independence from the shackles of the British monarchy by signing the Declaration of Independence.


John Adams, Massachusetts – Bill TeWinkle

Abigail Adams – Sandra Kasten

Benjamin Franklin, Pennsylvania – Michael A. Eberhardy

Richard Henry Lee, Virginia – David A. Neese

Andrew McNair, Custodian – Jim Johnson

Leather Apron – Holland White

Dr. Lyman Hall, Georgia – Leopold Shircel

Stephen Hopkins, Rhode Island – Glenn Schultz

Edward Rutledge, South Carolina – Jake Monroe

Caesar Rodney, Delaware – Jay Hilbelink

George Read, Delaware – Sean Philipps

Col. Thomas McKean, Delaware – Bill Coldren

John Dickinson, Pennsylvania – Dirk R. Milsted

James Wilson, Pennsylvania – Bob Staats

John Hancock, President – Mike Roehl

Charles Thomas, Secretary – Lee Tempas

Thomas Jefferson, Virginia – Michael McGovern

Courier – Brian M. Leffin

Dr. Josiah Bartlett, New Hampshire – Kevin M. Lampe

Roger Sherman, Connecticut – Jim Wucherer

Lewis Morris, New York – Steve Toepel

Robert Livingston, New York – Don Held

Samuel Chase, Maryland – Matt Klett

Joseph Hewes, North Carolina – Jon Cook

Rev. Johnathan Witherspoon, New Jersey – Joe Selinski

Martha Jefferson – Lisa Golda

Production Staff

Director: Ralph Maffongelli

Musical Director: Janice Westphal

Minuet Choreography: Veronica Hilke

Stage Manager: Karen Held

Asst. Stage Manager: Samantha Pool

Technical Director: Dustin L. Uhl

Set Design: Dustin L. Uhl

Costume Design: Janice Remling

Light Design: Rick Klein

Sound Design: Todd Jaeger

Properties: Karen Herman

Make-Up Design: Christy Zimmermann, Jenna Albrecht

Master Carpenter: Lee Schneider

Paint Master: Colleen Bertram, Kathy Schafer


Conductor/Keyboard: Janice Westphal

Bass: Lee Steffen

Clarinet: Alyssa Davis

Flute: Angela Kaker

Percussion: Brian Koehl

Trumpet: Christine Newman

Violin: Karen Bruinooge